Why is there a urinal in the women’s restroom?

I am back to work. Because I have been in and out of the office so much, I have a ton of work that had been hanging out waiting for me to take it up again. Therefore, I am very busy and running around             like crazy most days.

The bathroom at my end of the building was temporarily closed for a while today for some maintenance work. So as I was running from one meeting to the other, I decided to quickly use the restroom at the other end of the building.

I ran in, set my notebook and phone on the sink counter and turned to see that the stall doors and walls were brown. Well, I’ve been accused by my husband of not noticing things, and I tell you – I can usually tell that something is different, I just can’t determine what things used to be like. So, I figured maybe they’d done some renovation in here since the last time I’d used the bathroom at this end.

And then I noticed the extra sink on the wall. It was really tall. It was… well, a urinal. And I admit, it took me a second of wondering why they would bother to add a urinal to the women’s restroom before I realized that the shoes that I could see under the stall door were men’s shoes… That’s when I remembered that the bathrooms at one end  were true mirrors of the bathrooms at the other end, so the men’s room on the right at one end was on the left on the other end. 😐

Luckily I was able to grab my stuff and get out the door before 1) stall guy finished his business and came out, and 2) another man entered the bathroom. Luckily, the hall was empty as I did my red-faced dash out the door and into the actual women’s restroom next door!

image Yikes!

Future architects, take note. It would be really nice if when you have bathrooms at both ends of the building that you make the women’s room always on the same side of the men’s room so both ends match. I had a similar issue back in 1985 (also at MSU) at one of the classrooms on campus. Unfortunately that time, I noticed the urinal immediately because there was a man standing there using it at the time. Not sure who was more embarrassed between the two of us 😀

So, I am on Day 11 of my radiation treatments. Other than being inconvenient (I go every weekday), they are not too terrible. The worst part is having to lay absolutely still on that hard flat uncomfortable surface for so long. Some days my armpit and shoulder are so uncomfortable, it feels like I just may not make it through without moving that day. That’s when I have to force myself to try to meditate. I try to take my mind elsewhere and relax as much as possible. Sometimes it works, sometimes I just lay there near tears waiting for the torture to end. The last few days, with the cold temperatures outside, my skin has been super dry, leading to many minutes of trying to lay there still and not scratch the 1,001 itches that only appear when I know I am not supposed to move.

I am just starting to get to the point in my treatments (almost halfway through) that I am expected to see many side effects. I am already fatigued (of course I am always that) and pretty much since Day 5, my chest and armpit are increasingly tender and sore. They had warned that the radiation would inflame the healing tissue and nerves, causing spasms and shooting pains.

It is certainly not as bad as post-surgery, and so far I only have a little “pinkness” (like a sunburn) but as I said the tenderness is increasing with each treatment. Still I think back on how I felt even just a couple weeks ago – the pain, the stiffness, and discomfort from the surgery and I remember how far I’ve come. A long, long way.

2 thoughts on “Why is there a urinal in the women’s restroom?

  1. I love the look on your face!!! hahaa Been there, done that with the restroom deal. And there have been a couple of times that I did it on purpose. Because there were no lines (of course!), and if I didn’t – well, it would be embarrassing!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Have to admit, I’ve done it on purpose as well 🙂 Mostly because I am not very patient about other women taking so flippin’ long in the bathroom. I don’t even want to know what they are doing in there for so long- please just do your business and get out!!
    As a matter of fact, I used to suggest to people that we had 3 bathroom types- women’s, men’s, and tomboy’s (for those of us who don’t primp or spend hours looking at ourselves in the mirror and just need to go and get on with our day!) 😀
    Not surprisingly, people looked at me like I was nuts, so I dropped the idea :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

